Maccabi NSW soccer presentation day

October 11, 2009 by Odile Faludi - Maccabi NSW
Read on for article

Odile Faludi reports on the big day for NSW Maccabi soccer players…

L-R Mick Vasin, Steve Negrine, Darron Lonstein, Ruth Nissim & Danny Hochberg

L-R Mick Vasin, Steve Negrine, Darron Lonstein, Ruth Nissim & Danny Hochberg

It may have been drizzling rain at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Monday but that did not dampen the spirits of Danny Hochberg, President of Maccabi Junior Soccer Club.  Danny left nothing to the imagination with his passionate speech about his love of Maccabi. Danny conveyed a clear and simple message pitched to the parents convincing them that they should care as much as he does about Maccabi.  Danny shared his philosophy, “Maccabi is a growth stock in a growth industry and a highly recommended asset.”  His words summed it up simply saying you will get great fulfillment, enjoyment and most of all plain old “Nachus” from your involvement.

Danny thanked his entire committee consisting of Mark Puterflam, Karen Goodman, Darrell Godin, Andy Singh, Jeff Akres, Harry Sussman, Alan Charak, Malcolm Kofsky, Craig Behrmann and Jon Marcuson for their commitment, support and counsel. He also thanked Ruth Nissim, Executive of Maccabi NSW as well as CEO, Mick Vasin, Maccabi NSW. Danny also acknowledged his appreciation of his fellow Football Board Members, Jon Pillemer, John Myers, Jon Marcuson, Phil Filler, Mike Evans and Mick Vasin. He went on to thank ESFA, in particular Jeff Saul, the Executive Director and Peter Hennessy, the President. Finally, Danny thanked the sponsors, in particular, Hakoah Club. “Today we adopted the Hakoah name bringing us in line with the other Jewish Football Clubs,” Danny was happy to report. Other sponsors also thanked, Steven and Lisa Zoellner of Laing & Simmons Double Bay, Lance and Julie Rosenberg of Tricom.  Investec received a large applause for their continual presence together with our other longstanding sponsors.

The following sponsors are renewing for the next four years which is wonderful and were also thanked. They are: Martin Fine, Investec and Horizon Habitat. Last but not least, Danny thanked Dawn Herman for her tremendous work.

The major awards were:

Hochberg Volunteer awards

Girls – Steve Negrine   G12B coach

Boys – Darron Lonstein  U9D coach

Perpetual trophy winners are as follows

  • Ron Pollak  Boys U9 Team Of Year  Winner 9a
  • Charles Kaplan Boys U10 Team Of Year Winner 10s
  • Maurice Shlesinger Boys U11 Team Of Year Winner 11s
  • Greg Small Boys U12 Team Of Year Winner 12s
  • Hilton Cohen  Boys U13 To U18 Team Of The Year Winner 14a
  • Kevin Fisher Girls U10 Team Of Year Winner G10g
  • David Lewis  Girls U11 And U12 Team Of The Year Winner G11d
  • Peter Grunfeld Girls U14-18 Winner G14b
  • Gelber Family  Club Team Of The Year Winner G11d
  • Colin Tow SSG boys team spirit award which was awarded to the Boys 8T
  • Martin Fine SSG Team spirit award which was awarded to the whole G8 group

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.