Celebrating excellence and dedication at Jewish Care Victoria’s Staff & Volunteer Awards

October 30, 2018 by Kirsten Young
Read on for article

Over 200 Jewish Care staff, volunteers, Board Members and supporters gathered to acknowledge and congratulate award nominees for their excellence and dedication at Jewish Care Victoria’s 8thAnnual Staff and Volunteer Service & Excellence Awards.

Bill Appleby, Jeffrey Appel and Mike Debinski

Bill Appleby, Jewish Care CEO, commended all nominees on their hard work, passion and willingness to “give of themselves to ensure our community receive the best possible care and support.”

Guest speaker Mariam Issa, author of ‘A Resilient Life’ and co-founder of not-for-profit organisation RAW (Resilient Aspiring Women), reminded the audience at the St Kilda Town Hall of the importance of sharing stories and experiences in building a culture and fostering a sense of belonging.

Hayley Bacher and Ian Fayman

The Samuel H. Harris Award for demonstrated pursuit of excellence exceeding expectation was presented to Russell Griffiths, Senior Business Analyst- Financial Services. Russell was presented the major award for ongoing improvement to access of business information and commitment to supporting Jewish Care, its management and Board.

Russell Griffiths and Jeffrey Appel

Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Ian Fayman. A volunteer at Jewish Care since 2010, Ian was recognised for his dedication to supporting Elders at Gary Smorgon House and mentoring young people through the Young Achievers Program.

Each year, scholarships are awarded to staff to support the strengthening and development of professional skills. This year, three professional development scholarships were awarded to Freya Matthews, ICT Support- Information & Communications; Kate Bakos, Team Leader- Holocaust Survivor Support Program andNeetu Goyal, Practice Leader- Disability Services.

Service milestones were also celebrated at the event, with staff and volunteers who have given 5-35 years of service to Jewish Care acknowledged for their dedication and contribution. Gwenneth Hill, Sorin Ronea and Dr John Serry were recognised for their 30 years of service, whilst Jeffrey Appel was congratulated on 35 years of voluntary service to Jewish Care.


Other award winners included:

President’s Award: Steve Lowe, Disability Services Manager and Ella Turner, Senior Nurse in Charge- Smorgon Family Nursing Home

CEO Customer Service Award: Debbie Sztrochlic, Administration Assistant at Gary Smorgon House and Tarun Dua, Personal Care Worker Team Leader at Gary Smorgon House

Ethos Award: Lynette Maguire, Tenancy & Property Worker- Housing Support

Innovation of the Year: Fulton Street Refurbishment Team

Team of the Year: Healthy Communities Team

March of the Living Recipients: Fross Driscoll, Receptionist at St Kilda Road and Samuel Murray, Organisational Lead- Practice and Support

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.