AUJS Leadership for 2022

August 18, 2021 by J-Wire Newsdesk
Read on for article

AUJS has held its second-ever Zoom AGM with students from across Australia and New Zealand electing a new Executive Committee to lead the organisation in 2022.

Gabrielle Agosin and Natalie Gunn

Incumbent Vice President Natalie Gunn will succeed Gabrielle Agosin as AUJS President, whilst Conferences Coordinator Alissa Foster will take over from Natalie Gunn as AUJS Vice President.

Gunn said: “I’m so humbled to have been unanimously elected to work alongside such an amazing and passionate team who will ensure that AUJS continues to flourish. I have learnt so much from my experience as Vice President this past year. I look forward to empowering Jewish university students.”

Foster said: “I am looking forward to the opportunity to work alongside this incredible team. This past year we have faced a number of hurdles through COVID and the rising levels of antisemitism, and coming out of it I’m excited to continue to amplify the voice of Jewish students and empower the next generation of communal leadership.”

Agosin reflected: “It has been a challenging year for AUJS and our community, but it has also been inspiring to see the next generation of AUJS leaders step up and continue to develop our community and advocate for Jewish students on campus. I wish the best of luck to Nat and Alissa who I am sure will lead a passionate group of leaders in 2022.”

AUJS CEO Nurit Feldman said: “I warmly welcome Natalie Gunn, current Vice President and now AUJS incoming President and Alissa Foster, current Conferences Coordinator and now AUJS incoming Vice President for 2022! Gunn and Foster will lead a cohort of 150 volunteers through what looks to be another challenging year, as we try to get a better grip on what it is like for students to live with the pandemic. I thank the outgoing President Gabrielle Agosin and her team for the inspiring work in fostering Jewish students’ resilience in this difficult climate of pandemic and rising antisemitism.”

The 2022 AUJS Executive

The composition of the Executive Committee:

AUJS’ flagship leadership programs continue to produce committed and talented leaders; Gunn, Foster, Lichtig, Coburn, Tenembaum, and Peer are graduates of the AUJS Leadership Development Program, whilst Foster and Simovich have participated in the Susan Wakil Fellowship.

AGMs for AUJS’ regional and campus affiliates will take place in the coming months.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.