Nominate your Australian Human Rights Champion

June 29, 2017 by J-Wire Staff
Read on for article

Australia is preparing to celebrate our human rights champions for 2017.


Gillian Triggs

The Australian Human Rights Commission is asking you to nominate inspiring individuals, organisations, businesses or community groups who’ve made positive contributions to human rights.

Gillian Triggs said: “Over the past five years, the Awards have been one of the highlights of my role as President of the Australian Human Rights Commission; an opportunity to celebrate so many unsung heroes who have become part of Australia’s human rights history.

There are eight Awards categories and I hope you can suggest a name eligible for one of these;

  • Human Rights Medal
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award
  • Community Organisation Award
  • Law Award

Previous winners of the prestigious Human Rights Medal include Pat Anderson, Peter Greste, Eddie Mabo, Rt Hon Malcom Fraser, Ian Thorpe, Jeremy Jones, Professor Fred Hollows, Sister Clare Condon and Dorothy Hoddinott.

Nominate your unsung heroes on the Human Rights Awards website by 21 August 2017.

The winners will be announced at the 2017 Human Rights Awards on Friday, 8 December 2017 at Sydney’s Westin Hotel.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.