Israel and New Zealand fail to protect investors

April 11, 2013 by  
Read on for article

With nervous investors concerned about the health of their banks in many European countries , the New Zealand Greens have said that New Zealand and Israel are the only two countries in the OECD which do not offer protection to those whose who have deposits in those nations’ banks.

The OECD countries which do offer protection are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States.

“If National implement Open Bank Resolution as planned, everyday people’s savings can be made available to bail out their bank if it was to fail,” said Green Party Co-leader Dr Russel Norman.

“This is almost unprecedented in the developed world.

“Open Bank Resolution allows our major banks to get off scot-free from having to pay insurance premiums to protect their customers’ savings – premiums banks have to pay everywhere else.”

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.