Two nominations for Israeli films

October 12, 2011 by J-Wire Staff
Read on for article

Two films from Israel have received nominations in this year’s Asia Pacific Screen Awards, the region’s highest accolade for film.

Sasson Gabay (l) with Henry David in "Resoration"

Acclaimed actor Sasson Gabay has received a nomination for Best Performance by an Actor for his role in Boker Tov, Adon Fidelman (Restoration, Israel). This is his second APSA nomination, following a nomination for his role in Bikur Hatizmoret (The Band’s Visit, Israel) at the inaugural Asia Pacific Screen Awards in 2007 where the film won the UNESCO Award.

Nominated for Best Children’s Feature Film is Mabul (The Flood, Israel, France, Germany, Canada), produced by Chilik Michael, Ina Fichman, Avraham Pirchi, Tami Leon, David Silber, Moshe Edery and Leon Edery.

Joining the APSA 2011 International Jury is Israeli director and writer Samuel Maoz. A member of both the Asia Pacific Screen Academy and the European Film Academy, his participation on the Jury is the first expression of the newly announced alliance between the two academies.  At the 2010 APSAs, Maoz’s film Levanon (Lebanon) was awarded the Jury Grand Prize and Best Screenplay.

A total of 240 films were entered into this year’s competition. Thirty-seven have received nominations for the 2011 awards, with winners to be announced at the ceremony on the Gold Coast, Queensland, on November 24.

Led by Patron Jack Thompson, the Academy is a growing body of the region’s most influential names in film including past APSA Nominees, International Jury and Nominations Council members. The submission period for both film funds closes on October 21 and the fund recipients will be announced at the APSA Ceremony on November 24.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

    Rules on posting comments