Rewards for emergency workers

December 31, 2009 by J-Wire Staff
Read on for article

The Jewish Emergency Management Plan (JEMP) NSW has held its end of year thank you event.

Dr Alan Deutch, Miriam Spielman and Zimra Segall

Two of the organisation’s volunteers received special awards. Zimra Segall was awarded the award for Outstanding Service for 2009 and Miriam Spielman received an award for being Volunteer of the Year. The event was the culmination of an active and productive year for JEMP which saw a growth in volunteer numbers. JEMP is the communities coordinating body for any major emergency that effects the NSW Jewish Community. A sister organisation operates in Victoria too. In 2008 JEMP NSW was awarded a national Safer Communities Award by the Federal Government.

JEMP NSW Executive Director, Yair Miller, stated at the presentations that “JEMP can only function with a dedicated and enthusiastic group of volunteers. Without volunteers like Zimra and Miriam we could not have the confidence to be able to provide the services we do during the communities most vulnerable times.”

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.