Maccabi NSW honours its stars

April 4, 2019 by Community newsdesk
Read on for article

Maccabi has held its annual Jewish Sports Awards to recognise great sporting achievements for the calendar year 2018.

Barry Smorgon, Tom York, Tom Goldman, Lauren Ehrlich and Ryan O’Connor

The event held at the Bondi Pavilion doubled as a ‘Volunteer’s Night’, where numerous long-serving volunteers were also recognised for their contributions to Maccabi.

Over 100 people turned out to see athlete Steven Solomon and paddler Jessica Fox awarded Sportsman and Sporstwoman of the the Year titles.

Olympian Steve Solomon was the guest of honour and gave interesting insights into his upbringing, career, coaching & preparation, other world-class athletes aand advice for aspiring youngsters.

Newly appointed Maccabi AUS Executive Director Ryan O’Connor also travelled from Melbourne to be there and he introduced himself to the NSW Maccabi community.

Jessica Fox was unable to attend.

The various Sports Awards Winners for the year 2018 were:

Maccabi NSW – Category Winner
Outstanding All Abilities Sportsperson of the Year Matt Levy – Swimming
Outstanding Junior Sportsman of the Year Yonatan Freund – Karate
Outstanding Junior Sportswoman of the Year Lara Kaplan – Tennis
Outstanding Masters Sportsman of the Year Terry Diamond – Marathon/Running
Outstanding Masters Sportswoman of the Year N/A – Not awarded
Outstanding Sportsman of the Year Steven Solomon – Athletics
Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year Jessica Fox – Canoeing
Youth leadership Award Yoni Hochberg – Touch Footy
Club Administrator of the Year Ofer Greenberg – Junior Soccer
Team of the Year Ladies Golf – NSW Queens Cup Team
Club of the Year Maccabi Swimming Club


The Maccabi Volunteers who were presented with certificates & pins for their immense contributions were:

Outstanding Contribution – Maccabi Carnival

      • Bronwyn Elbourne – Organising Committee Co-Manager
      • Lynne Berson – Organising Committee Co-Manager
      • Susie Rosen – Billeting
      • Michelle Stockley – Volunteers
      • Linda Tate – Security
      • Robi Karp – Photographer
      • Garron Forman – NSW Team Manager
      • Lara Levin – NSW Team Manager
      • Jodi Velik – Youth leader Coordinator
      • Daliah Szwarc – All Abilities Coordinator
      • Sender & Chana Kavka – Friendship Circle
      • Ralene Reuveny – Logistics
      • Elly Guth – sports
      • Yoash Dvir – Marketing
      • Mikey Sarif – Youth Leader
      • Mikey Karseboom – Youth Leader
      • Rachel Jablonka – Youth Leader
      • Samantha Sandelowsky – Youth Leader

Outstanding Contribution – Mixed Social Netball

      • Shayna Slotar & Ella Cantori

5 Years Volunteer Service

      • Tracey Chorev  – Junior Soccer Club
      • Mark Weinberg – Junior Soccer Club
      • Sally Opit – Netball Club
      • Rachel Nemes – Basketball Club
      • Greg Shapiro – Basketball Club
      • Dana Greenberg – Basketball Club

10+ Years Volunteer Service

      • Tracey Chorev  – Junior Soccer Club
      • Trevor Ziman – Junior Soccer Club
      • Rob ‘Pixie’ Friedland – Hakoah FC
      • Dawn Herman – Netball Club
      • Susan Sznajer – Tenpin Super League
      • Evelyn Rose – Tenpin Super League

Maccabi Lifetime Volunteer Service Award – the Late Peter Goldman z”l


Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.