Contested elections at the The New South Wales Jewish Board of Deputies

August 20, 2012 by  
Read on for article

Contested elections will be held for a number of positions within the NSW Jewish Board of Deputies at its annual general meeting tomorrow night.

Seven people have nominated for five positions on the Board executive: George Foster, Judi Hall, Jeremy Jones, Melissa McCurdie, Isabelle Shapiro, Yosi Tal and Uri Windt.

In addition, nine people are contesting six positions on the NGO Relations Committee and six people are competing for four berths on the Public Affairs Committee.

The honorary positions of president, vice-presidents, treasurer and secretary are uncontested, with the incumbents standing again: Yair Miller, Yaron Finkelstein and Jeremy Spinak, and Sam Zweig and Roma Shell respectively.

The AGM will be held at NCJW Council House on Tuesday, August 21 at 7.30pm.

The keynote speaker will be UN Watch Executive Director Hillel Neuer, who will address the meeting by video-link from Geneva as health issues have prevented him visiting Australia at this time.

“Hillel Neuer brings a unique perspective to the table,” Board CEO Vic Alhadeff said. “This is a rare opportunity to hear from one who has exceptional insights into the workings of the UN, one who has tackled its biases head-on. We encourage members of the community to avail themselves of this opportunity.”

Inquiries: 9360 1600.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.