Change at the top at Jewish Care

November 28, 2012 by Ayal Tusia
Read on for article

Melbourne’s Jewish Care has announced a new President and Treasurer to lead lead the organisation into 2013.


Bruce Rosengarten and Mke Debinski

Mike Debinski takes office as President of Jewish Care from outgoing President Bruce Rosengarten. Mr Debinski is a senior executive in the Victorian government and has held a range of leadership roles overseeing the planning and delivery of health and community services. Rohan Filer has been elected as Treasurer, taking over from Michael Schoenfeld who has diligently served in the role since November 2004.

Debinski said: “It is a privilege to take on this leadership role, to work with the Board and staff to continue to grow this vital community organisation. There are many opportunities ahead and I look forward to building an even stronger organisation to serve our community for many years to come.”

Mike Debinski thanked Bruce Rosengarten, President from November 2009, for his extraordinary commitment and service to Jewish Care and the Jewish community of Victoria.

“On behalf of the Board, members of the Jewish Care community and the broader community, I thank Bruce for his exceptional term at Jewish Care,” Debinski said. “I would like to acknowledge the enormous contribution Bruce has made leading the Board over the past three years. He has worked tirelessly to build a sustainable, responsive, caring and Jewish organisation that supports the needs of the Victorian Jewish community.”

Debinski cited major achievements under Rosengarten’s leadership, including the revitalisation of Jewish Care; long-term financial sustainability; navigation of a five year strategic plan; redevelopment of vital assets; the crystallisation of a property strategy for future expansion of services and improved service delivery across many program areas.


The full board includes:  Mike Debinski, President;  Jeffrey Appel, Co-Vice President;  Leah Balter, Co-Vice President; Rohan Filer, Treasurer; Frank Ajzensztat, Assistant Treasurer; Greg Nankin, Secretary; Sally Genser; Susie Ivany; Simon T Morris; Marcia Pinskier; Leslie Reti and Bruce Rosengarten.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.