Calling all game-changers

December 21, 2014 by Roz Tarszisz
Read on for article

B’nai B’rith Alfred Dreyfus Anti Defamation Unit and JNF Australia are calling for nominations for their annual National “Game Changers” Awards.


Gary Samowiz [centre] receives his award from the JNF's Shlomo Ben-Haim and B'nai B'rith's Ernie Friedlander

Gary Samowiz [centre] receives his 2013 award from the JNF’s Shlomo Ben-Haim and B’nai B’rith’s Ernie Friedlander

Many young people give up valuable time to assist organisations and individuals and this is a way to acknowledge their valuable input.

Categories for Youth – up to age 18

  • Contribution to the Jewish Community
  • Contribution to Australian Society
  • Support for the State of Israel


Categories for Young Adults to 35

  • Same as the above three
  • Leadership

Each nominee will appear in a brochure with their photo and receive a certificate for a JNF Tree planted in their name.

Prize Money for the winner in each category:

  • Youth                                       $ 500
  • Young Adults                           $ 750


Nominations close on 27 February 2015. Forms and the criteria are available from B’nai B’rith office (02) 9321 6300 or or

JNF National Office (02) 9386 9559

Organisations and individuals can nominate candidates – they can even nominate themselves.

Councillor Miriam Guttman-Jones, Ernie Friedlander, recipient Joel Kuperholz and B;nai B'rith president Ivan Kaplan

Councillor Miriam Guttman-Jones, Ernie Friedlander, recipient Joel Kuperholz and B’nai B’rith president Ivan Kaplan

Last year’s winners were: Jessica Harrison, Liron Smith, Brandon Srot, Gary Samowitz, Joel Kuperholz Shayne Slotar. There were also two Highly Commended Awards to Rabbi Mendy Litzman and Jonathan Markowitz.

The judging panel consisted of Peter Wertheim, Ilona Lee, David Knoll, Kirsten Shteinman , Camille Fox.

Ernie Friedlander, President of the B’nai B’rith Alfred Dreyfus Unit said “Last year’s event presentation was very exciting and uplifting for all those present. It is a pity we don’t have more awards to give, as all nominees deserve to get one.”

Major sponsor for the event is Harry Triguboff and Meriton Apartments.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.