Award Night

June 21, 2009 by J-Wire
Read on for article

Maccabi Victoria Celebrates Annual Awards Evening

The Maccabi Victoria Annual Awards were presented at the Glen Eira Town Hall on 4 June with an enthusiastic crowd of 200 in attendance.

It was a privilege to have basketball icon, Lindsay Gaze as Special Guest Speaker, while MC, Len Bogatin – Maccabi Victoria Hall of Fame member and Athletics Club President and stalwart – entertained the audience with his humour and brief interviews with all Award winners.

Other highlights of the evening were the uplifting ‘Walking on Sunshine” song and dance performance by the Maccabi Victoria Jewish Care All Abilities Group, Australia and Israel anthems by Maccabi AJAX Netball Club member, Amanda Horiniak, and the sendoff to the Victorian Management and participants of the 18th Maccabiah Australian delegation.

The Annual Awards evening recognises and honours the outstanding performances of Maccabi athletes and administrators during the past 12 months.

The quality of nominations was of a high standard with several categories strongly contested.

The 2008 Maccabi Annual Awards Winners are:

Claire Isaacs Club Junior Sportswoman of the Year
Marni Burger- Maccabi AJAX Swimming Club

Les Abrahams Club Junior Sportsman of the Year
Max Curtis
– Maccabi Volleyball Club

Australian Jewish News Jewish Junior Sportsperson of the Year
Noam Tidhar (Judo)

Manuel Gelman Masters Sportswoman of the Year
Not awarded in 2008

David Mandie Masters Sportsman of the Year
Not awarded in 2008

Ben Abrahams Club Administrator of the Year
Marc Felman- Maccabi AJAX Cricket Club

Herb Swedosh Club Coach of the Year
Not awarded in 2008

Ivan Saffer Team of the Year
North Caulfield Maccabi Football Women’s Open Team  – North Caulfield Maccabi Football Club

Maccabi Victoria Club Sportsman of the Year
Jason Ritterman
AJAX Amateur Football Club

Ari Ritz North Caulfield Maccabi Football Club

Basil Isaacs Jewish Open Sportswoman of the Year
Tal Karp –
Melbourne Victory Women

Les Goldsmith Jewish Open Sportsman of the Year
David Zalcberg – Table Tennis (2008 Athens Olympic Games)

Ben Sternfeld Club of the Year
Maccabi AJAX Cricket Club

Outstanding contribution to Tennis (All Abilities)– Zvi Schweitzer

Susie Shulsinger (Maccabi Toastmasters Club)

Deloitte Maccabi Victoria Rising Star Award
Ashley Brown – Football (Australian National Women’s U/16 Team – Asian Football Confederation Qualifiers)

2008 Maccabi Victoria Club Volunteer Awards
Volunteers are the foundation of Maccabi Victoria and its clubs, with over 600 volunteers playing a vital role in connecting our community through sport. Maccabi Victoria was delighted to congratulate and acknowledge the dedicated volunteers awarded in 2008 for giving their time freely and making a significant contribution to their Club . Each Club is entitled to make one award each year.

Maccabi Victoria Jewish Care All Abilities Group Deena Goldbloom
Maccabi Athletic Club Zac Ashkanasy

Maccabi Victoria Basketball Club Nikki Diamond
Maccabi AJAX Cricket Club Aaron Adelist

Maccabi AJAX Junior Cricket Club Jeff Goldberg
AJAX Amateur Football Club Michael Karp

AJAX Amateur Football Club Peter Kagan

AJAX Junior Football Club Andrew Shenker

North Caulfield Maccabi Football Club Zhenya Elgart
Nth Caulfield Maccabi Junior Football Club Mike Distiller

Maccabi Hockey Club David Birnbaum
Maccabi AJAX Lawn Bowls Club Lou Silber

Maccabi AJAX Lawn Bowls Club Vivienne Sokol

AJAX Ski Club Jeremy Hearst

Victoria Maccabi Snooker Club Nathan Gropman
Maccabi Squash Club Jack Iglicki
Maccabi AJAX Swimming Club Mark Silver

Maccabi Table Tennis Club Barak Mizrachi
Maccabi Tennis Club Henry Muscatel
Maccabi Toastmasters Club Abby Levy
Thank you to Deloitte, the major sponsor of the event, and to the other companies and individuals that sponsored individual awards or contributed raffle prizes.

Sponsored by

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.