Leibler to advise the prime minister on Aborigines and the constitution

December 9, 2015 by J-Wire News Service
Read on for article

Mark Leibler, National Chairman of The Australia/Israel and Jewish Affairs Council, has been appointed  as Co-Chair of the Referendum Council.

Mark Leibler

Mark Leibler

Leibler is co-chairing the Council with Professor Patrick Dodson with whom  he co-chaired the former Expert Panel on Constitutional Recognition of Indigenous Australians.

The other members of the Referendum Council are: Ms Pat Anderson; Professor Megan Davis; Mr Andrew Demetriou; Mr Murray Gleeson QC; Mr Mick Gooda; Ms Tanya Hosch; Professor Kristina Keneally; Ms Jane McAloon; Mr Michael Rose; Ms Natasha Stott Despoja; Mr Noel Pearson; Ms Amanda Vanstone; Ms Dalassa Yorkston and Dr Galarrwuy Yunupingu .

AIJAC’s Executive Director Dr Colin Rubenstein said: “The Referendum Council has been tasked with the critical role of advising Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Opposition leader Bill Shorten on how to progress a successful referendum to recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the constitution.  AIJAC supports this nationally important  reconciliation goal and takes great pride in congratulating its National Chairman Mr Mark Leibler on his appointment as Co-Chair of the Council..

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

    Rules on posting comments