Solomon Lew on PM’s Advisory Council

December 5, 2013 by  
Read on for article

The Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Council will bring together 12 prominent Australian and global business leaders and experts to help restore a strong working relationship between business and government.

Solomon Lew

Solomon Lew

A strong economy needs profitable and dynamic businesses to generate jobs and revenue to fund the provision of services and infrastructure.

The Council brings together leaders from the manufacturing, resources, logistics, retail, financial and construction sectors. It will meet three times a year with senior members of the Government.

The Council’s advice will help guide programmes and policies that are sympathetic to the needs of both small and large businesses in Australia.

The Chairman of the Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Council, Mr Maurice Newman AC, will be joined by:


  • Professor Gary Banks AO – Dean and CEO of the Australia and New Zealand School of Government.
  • Mr Michael Chaney AO – Chairman, National Australia Bank and Chancellor of the University of Western Australia.
  • Mr Peter Fox AM – Executive Chairman of Fox Group Holdings and Linfox Pty Ltd.
  • Mr Daniel Grollo – Chief Executive Officer, Grocon.
  • Mr John Hart – Chief Executive Officer, Restaurant and Catering Australia.
  • Mr Barry Irvin AM – Chairman, Bega Cheese.
  • Mr Graham Kraehe – Chairman, BlueScope Steel and Brambles.
  • Mr Solomon Lew – Chairman and Non-Executive Director, Premier Investments.
  • Ms Catherine Livingstone AO – Chairman, Telstra.
  • Mr Jacques Nasser AO – Chairman, BHP Billiton.
  • Dr Jane Wilson – Director and former Chairman of a wide array of companies across the health, biotechnology, agriculture and energy sectors.


The Council will meet three times a year and the first meeting of the Council will be held before the end of the year.

Mr Lew was appointed a non-executive director and Chairman of Premier in 2008. For many years, Mr Lew has been a director of Century Plaza Investments Pty. Ltd., the largest shareholder in Premier and was previously Chairman of Premier from 1987 to 1994. Mr. Lew has over 40 years’ experience in the manufacture, importation, wholesaling and retailing of textiles, apparel and general merchandise.


Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from J-Wire

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading