Beit Shalom

About Beit Shalom

The congregation, which is registered as Adelaide Progressive Jewish Congregation, was founded by a dedicated group of lay leaders in 1963. Its first Rabbi, Jeffrey A Kahn, was formally inducted in 1981. Rabbi Kahn and his family returned to the United States in 1986 and was replaced by Rabbi Ian Morris. After 9 years here, Rabbi Morris accepted a position in Leeds, England.

Since then we have had two years’ fine service from Rabbi Lenore Bohm and Rabbi Adam Morris, Rabbi;s David and Patricia Kopstein – all from the United States. Our current rabbi, Rabbi Shoshana Kaminsky, joined us in August, 2006, and is also from the United States.

Today the synagogue owns its premises, consisting of a synagogue, hall, kitchen and classrooms.