Philip Feinstein presented with NSW Volunteer of the Year award

September 19, 2019 by J-Wire Newsdesk
Read on for article

The overall winner was Philip Feinstein who was appropriately dressed in his Supporting Refugees, Burundi T-shirt.

Philip Feinstein

Representing over 32,000 volunteers in NSW were 300 enthusiastic audience members acknowledging the achievements of all volunteers.

Among the volunteers to receive certificates were Hilary Jacobson from JewishCare and three members of COA: Dorrit Mahemoff, Melania Wolf and Sonya Gorney.

“Today we celebrate the enormous difference volunteers and volunteering organisations make to our communities,” said Gemma Rygate, CEO of The Centre for Volunteering. “It is my privilege here to meet volunteers, hear of the extraordinary work they do, and celebrate it with their proud families, friends, MP’s, Mayors and local organisations.”

The message from the Minister for Families, Communities and Disability Services Gareth Ward was: “The Awards are an important opportunity to celebrate the contribution of local volunteers – they have no doubt improved the lives of many residents across NSW.”

Although he has spent more than 10 years visiting Villawood Detention Centre and helping refugees both in and out of detention, Philip Feinstein’s focus now is also on helping some of the half-million Burundians who have fled their country owing to the violence and upcoming genocide there. “We are witnessing the same thing that happened in Rwanda 20 years ago, Hutu versus Tutsi,” said Feinstein. “Hopefully the Australian government will use their vote intelligently in the Human Rights Commission of which they are a member” he added.

In his speech after receiving his Volunteer of the Year Award, Philip Feinstein said: “One of the best things about volunteering is that you sleep well! I think everyone should consider volunteering for something.”  Philip also directed people to the Music for Refugees Facebook page when people asked questions about Burundi.

Attending the event and presenting the awards were MPs Ron Hoenig State Member for Heffron, Jenny Leong MP, State Member for Newtown and Marjorie O’Neill MP, State Member for Coogee together with Mayor Peter Cavanagh, Municipality of Woollahra, Mayor Kathy Neilson, City of Randwick and Mayor John Wakefield, Waverley Council,



Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.