On July 20, Netanyahu to become Israel’s longest-serving prime minister

July 19, 2019 by JNS
Read on for article

When the clock strikes midnight on Saturday, July 20, Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu will make history as the State of Israel’s longest-serving premier, surpassing the previous record-holder, David Ben-Gurion.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu celebrates at the Likud Party headquarters in Tel Aviv after the announcement of the election results on April 9, 2019. Photo by Yonatan Sindel/Flash90.

Serving from June 18, 1996, to July 6, 1999, and again from March 31, 2009, until the present, Netanyahu will have served 4,876 days as Israel’s leader.

Ben-Gurion, who led from May 14, 1948, until January 26, 1954, and again from Nov. 3, 1955, until June 26, 1963, led for 13-and-a-half years—a total of 4,875 days.

Netanyahu ranks 16th among longest-reigning leaders in OECD nations since the end of World War II, according to the Israel Democracy Institute, and is currently the third longest-leading national head among OECD nations, after Turkey’s Recep Tayyip Erdoğan and Germany’s Angela Merkel.

He is the 35th longest-reigning leader in the world.

As of Saturday, Israel’s third-longest-leading prime minister will be Yitzhak Shamir, followed by Yitzhak Rabin and Menachem Begin.

Ehud Barak, who is currently trying to break back into Israeli politics with his new Israel Democratic Party, holds the record for Israel’s shortest term, at just 1 year, eight months, and two days.


Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.