Hebrew Uni update

December 12, 2014 by J-Wire Staff
Read on for article

The Australian Friends of the Hebrew University recently held its Federal AGM in Surfers Paradise and its Victorian AGM in Melbourne.

Robert Simons with Professor Ronnie Friedman

Robert Simons with Professor Ronnie Friedman

Re-elected as Federal President were Robert Simons, Treasurer Philip Moses and Secretary Jonathon Goodman. Additional board members are NSW President Michael Dunkel, Victorian President Grahame Leonard and Prof Peter Winterton from Perth.

Visiting from Israel was Hebrew University Professor Ronnie Friedman, Vice President for External Affairs and University Advancement who, alongside Senator Brett Mason, Federal Parliamentary Secretary, Foreign Affairs, addressed the Gold Coast community .

In Melbourne, the Australian Friends of the Hebrew University-Victorian Division had a change of guard at its Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 23 November.

After 3 years as President, Larry Gandler handed over the reins to Grahame Leonard.  Grahame brings many years of experience with him from within the Jewish community and more broadly in his role as a Victorian Multicultural Commissioner.

Grahame began his Presidency with nominations for new board members and outlined his vision for new portfolios. Robert Simons AM, Federal President thanked Larry for his commitment and welcomed Grahame into the role.  An event was held in the evening at Beth Weizmann with speakers, Prof Ronnie Friedman, Vice President for External Affairs and University Advancement and Prof Greg Barton.  Prof Barton spoke on the rise of the Islamic State, challenges posed to global stability and the implications for Australia and Israel. The successful event was attended by 200 people.

The full Victorian Board for 2015 is:

Mr Grahame Leonard            President

Dr Mervyn Cass                 Organizational Development Portfolio (Increase membership/Yearbook)

Mr Larry Gandler                             Collaborative Research Portfolio

Dr Rolene Lamm                              Education Portfolio

Mr Jeff Morrison                             Event Management Portfolio

Ms Talia Raab                                   Alumni Portfolio

Mr Evan Thornley                            Community Liaison Portfolio


Lady Anna Cowen                            Patron



Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.