Another recipient

June 12, 2018 by J-Wire Newsdesk
Read on for article

J-Wire apologises to Professor Sever Sternhell who was awarded the AO in yesterday’s Queen’s birthday honours…and omitted on our list.


Professor Sever STERNHELL, Naremburn NSW 2065

For distinguished service to education in the field of organic chemistry, specifically to nuclear magnetic resonance, as an academic and researcher, and to scientific institutions.

Professor Sever Sternhell

Service includes:

Professor Sever Sternhell
Sydney University:

Emeritus Professor, since 1998.

Founding Chair, Committee for Graduate Studies, 1984 – 1987.

Chair, PhD Awards Committee, 1978 – 1984 and Member, 1976-1977.

Professor, Organic Chemistry, 1977-1998.

Member, PhD Awards Committee, 1976 – 1984.

Reader, Organic Chemistry, 1967 – 1976.

Senior Lecturer, 1964.

Australian Research Council:

Chair, Interdisciplinary Panel, 1992.

Chair, Chemistry Panel, 1991 – 1992.

Member, Materials Science Priority Panel, 1989 – 1992.

Member, Australian Research Council, 1988 – 1992.

Australian Academy of Science:

Former Member, National Committee for Chemistry.

Fellow, 1992.

Involved with the introduction of NMR Spectroscopy to Australia.

Member, several editorial boards with national and international publications including: ‘Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Abstracts’, 1964-1976.

Research Officer, Division of Coal Research, CSIRO, 1955 – 1964.

Awards and recognition includes:

Recipient, Centenary Medal, 2001.

Fellow, Royal Australian Chemical Institute.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Got something to say about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.