Not for Kosher consumption

April 6, 2012 by J-Wire Staff
Read on for article

Kosher VeYosher matzo has been declared not Kosher for Passover by the Rabbinical Council of Victoria.

The Council issued the following statement:

In response to inquiries about the halachic acceptability or otherwise of the laffa-style soft matzos which are under the supervision of a private business known as ‘Kosher VeYosher’ (also known as ‘It’s Kosher’), the Rabbinical Council of Victoria (RCV) reaffirms its position that this product should not be consumed or owned by a Jewish person during the festival of Pesach.
In addition to the RCV’s definitive statement dated 7July 2010in relation to the ‘Kosher VeYosher’ business in general, in which it affirmed –following detailed consultation with three leading international kashrus authorities –that ‘Kosher VeYosher’ had been authorizing the kashrus of products and establishments through means which do not conform to the standards adopted by international halachic and kashrus authorities, the RCV remains particularly concerned about the availability of the said laffa-style soft matzos due to the severe Biblical prohibition of owning or eating chametz on Pesach.
Furthermore, the Kashrut Authority in New South Wales (KA) last year released a statement which confirmed that the ‘Kosher VeYosher’ certification cannot be relied upon in general. In particular, the KA statement referred to first hand information it received during its visit to the plant at which the flour for the soft matzos was produced in 2010and to its discussions with the flour manufacturer at that plant, and noted that the soft matzos in question were likely chametz because:
(a) ordinary flour that was not kosher for Pesach was used in its production; (b) the conveyor belt was sprinkled with maize starch; and
(c) the process heat was not sufficient for the baking of matza.
The above information only became known to the KA after Pesach of that year. The implications for those members of the community who did in fact own and/or consume this product during Pesach of that year are severe. The KA noted in its statement that ‘Kosher VeYosher’ had addressed some of the above issues on the ‘Kosher VeYosher’ website, but concluded that in its professional opinion, after having reviewed the explanations made and positions taken by ‘Kosher VeYosher’ and based upon its own first hand experience and knowledge, the ‘Kosher VeYosher’ certification cannot be relied upon at any time.
Consequently, the RCV once again cautions the community against the ownership or consumption of this product during Pesach and advises those who may have already purchased it to include it in their chametz items sold prior to Pesach.


One Response to “Not for Kosher consumption”
  1. What exactly are these ‘severe’ implications that the RCV talk about? Are they more severe than the implications for driving on Shabbat, or for when two men showing their love for each other? The community should know exactly what these implications are, so they can make an informed decision. Otherwise it just sounds like an idle threat and anti-competitive bitching.

Speak Your Mind

Comments received without a full name will not be considered
Email addresses are NEVER published! All comments are moderated. J-Wire will publish considered comments by people who provide a real name and email address. Comments that are abusive, rude, defamatory or which contain offensive language will not be published

Leave a Reply to Michael Barnett Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.